urban art; an art statement of byroglyphic

byroglyphics

BYROGLYPHICS aka Russ Mills is riding high and has an enormous following. Describing his work as ‘Kitchen Sink Surrealism’ he has, for a long while, been quietly obsessed with Japanese pop culture, especially the Harajuku phenomenon.

‘I love the way that every piece of popular culture from the recent past is smashed together into a garish soup and regurgitated into real life with absolutely no boundaries’
His hybrid of traditional media and digital imaging, focusing on human idiosyncrasies both physical and emotional result in distorted forms both subtle and extreme.

Russ’s recent work has taken a monumental leap forward in both technique and subject matter. An extraordinary body of work is emerging displaying a kaliedoscopic range of drawing and painting skills combined with collage and mixed media in a totally homogenised way.

page0_blog_entry18_5

nata5_triptych001

houndsite

t

(image source via http://www.byroglyphics.com/)

10 responses to “urban art; an art statement of byroglyphic

  1. Reblogged this on Hyperballad and commented:
    His work is amazing. It almost reminds me of a Murakami novel, with his surrealistic interpretations of the human form– and with his fixation on Japanese popular culture.

  2. I’m impressed, I must say. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s
    both equally educative and interesting, and without a doubt, you have hit the nail on the head.

    The issue is something which not enough folks are speaking intelligently about.

    Now i’m very happy I found this during my search for something relating to this.

  3. I tend not to write a comment, however I glanced through a few remarks here urban
    art; an art statement of byroglyphic | agnyana. I do have a couple of questions for you if
    it’s allright. Could it be simply me or do some of the remarks come across like they are left by brain dead people? 😛 And, if you are posting on additional places, I’d like to keep up with
    anything new you have to post. Could you
    post a list of the complete urls of all your public sites like your
    linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  4. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and
    found that it is truly informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if you continue this in future. A lot of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  5. Does your website have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an e-mail.

    I’ve got some recommendations for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing it develop over time.

  6. Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading it, you could be a great author.
    I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and will come back in the
    future. I want to encourage yourself to continue your great writing, have a nice evening!

Leave a Reply

